2018 Indie Book Award Winners Announced

Next Generation Indie Book Awards is the world's largest not-for-profit awards for independent publishers and self-published authors (PRNewsfoto/Independent Book Publishing Pro)

Independent Book Publishing Professionals Group (IBPPG) has named the best indie books of 2018.

The books are winners of the 2018 Next Generation Indie Book Awards, the world’s largest not-for-profit book awards program for independent publishers and self-published authors. The winners and finalists will be honored June 22, 2018, at Hotel Monteleone in New Orleans, coinciding with the American Library Association Annual Conference. This year is the 11th of the not-for-profit book awards program.

The awards are judged by leaders of the indie book publishing industry, including many with long careers at major publishing houses. Their love of a great read and experience in the publishing arena identify books deserving a wider audience.

Small Presses, Independent Publishers, University Presses, E-Book Publishers and Self-Published Authors

Independent book publishing companies are independent of the major conglomerates dominating the book publishing industry. Indies include small presses, larger independent publishers, university presses, e-book publishers and self-published authors.

According to statistics from the United Nations Educational Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), more than a million books are published worldwide each year.

To help indie authors and publishers reach a wider audience, the top 70 books in the 2018 Next Generation Indie Book Awards will be reviewed by New York literary agent Marilyn Allen of Allen O’Shea Literary Agency, or one of Ms. Allen’s co-agents, for possible representation in areas such as distribution, foreign rights, film rights and other rights. Ms. Allen has worked with best-selling authors and served in senior positions with major publishers including Harper Collins, Simon & Schuster and Penguin Books.

The top prize-winning books in the 2018 Next Generation Indie Book Awards are:

Top Fiction Books

First Place Winner ($1,500 Prize)
The Other Side of Freedom, by Cynthia T. Toney (Write Integrity Press)

Second Place Winner ($750 Prize)
Stones, by Jeanie Kortum (She Writes Press)

Third Place Winner ($500 Prize)
Rage, by Stewart Raffill (Code 7 Books)

Top Non-Fiction Books

First Place Winner ($1,500 Prize)
Cast: Art and Objects Made Using Humanity’s Most Transformational Process, by Jen Townsend and Renée Zettle-Sterling (Schiffer Publishing)

Second Place Winner ($750 Prize)
Noname The Feral Cat! by Cynthia O’Brien, Illustrated by Anne Berry (Self-Published)

Third Place Winner ($500 Prize)
Sage Grouse, Icon of the West, by Noppadol Paothong and Kathy Love (Self-Published)

Honorable Mention ($250 Prize)
Dance Across the USA, by Jonathan Givens (EPS Publishing)

Other Winners

Top books were named as winners and finalists in over 70 publishing categories ranging from Action/Adventure to Young Author.

A complete list of 2018 winners and finalists is available at the Next Generation Indie Book Awards website at

2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards

Entries are now being accepted for the 2019 Next Generation Indie Book Awards. The awards are open to books released in 2017, 2018 or 2019 from independent authors and publishers worldwide. Visit for information.

Andrea Hammer
About Andrea Hammer 283 Articles
Andrea Karen Hammer is the founder, director and owner of Artsphoria Publishing, Media Group & Shop ( Artsphoria International Magazine (; Artsphoria Movie Reviews & Film Forum (; Artsphoria: Arts, Business & Technology Center (; Artsphoria Event Advertising & Reporting (; Artsphoria: Food for the Soul (; Artsphoria Animation & Imagination World ( and Artsphoria Shop ( She is a Philadelphia-based freelance writer who has published articles in international publications.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.